AppsMicrosoftNewsSkypeSocial Media

How to Permanently Delete a Skype Account in 2023 Step-by-Step Guide

Skype is one of the video calling services provided by Microsoft. Although video calling is one of the features of this messenger, it also allows for voice calls over the internet. By using video and voice calling software such as Skype, significant savings can be made on calling costs. In other words, you only need to be connected to the internet for video and voice calls when using this software. The only cost you will incur is the purchase of internet packages. In previous tutorials, we explained how to set up Skype on an Android phone, but you may no longer want to use Skype and make video calls. In such cases, you need to delete your Skype account. In this SPY24 tutorial, we will show you how to delete your Skype account with a visual tutorial. So stay with us until the end of this article.

How do I close my account for Skype?

Skype is one of a range of consumer services that is accessed through a Microsoft account. It is not possible to separate your Skype profile from your Microsoft account. If you close your Microsoft account, in addition to not being able to sign in to or access Skype, you’ll no longer be able to sign in to other Microsoft consumer products or services such as Outlook.com, Office Online, OneDrive, Xbox Live, or Windows.

 

https://support.skype.com/en/faq/FA142/how-do-i-close-my-account-for-skype

Deleting a Skype account

Despite all the unique features of Skype, users may want to delete their accounts for various reasons. Registering and creating an account on Skype is very easy. However, deleting a Skype account is not as easy.

READ More:  How to Change Skype Password on Desktop (Forgetting New Password)

It takes 60 days from the time you initiate the process of deleting your Skype account until your account is completely deleted. Therefore, during this period, it is possible to restore your Skype account.

Before deleting your Skype account, make sure to save all important information somewhere else. After 60 days of deleting your Skype account, it will not be possible to access your information or account anymore.

How can we delete our Skype account?

In the previous tutorial, we talked about what Skype is and how to use it. Let’s assume that after using this software for a while, you have decided to delete your Skype account. In such cases, you must log into your Skype account and follow the steps below:

Note that the method of deleting a Skype account is the same for mobile, web, and Windows versions.

1. First, log into the Skype software user interface.

2. To access the Skype settings section, click on your small account picture in the top left corner of the user interface.

How can we delete our Skype account?

3. In this section, select the “Settings” option to access the Skype settings.

Skype settings

4. In the Skype settings, click on the first field “Account & Profile” in the left panel. In this section, you have various options for managing your Skype account and profile.

5. On the opened page, the final option is “Close your account” for deleting your Skype account. By clicking on it, the process of deleting your Skype account will begin.

Skype account

6. As a security measure, you need to enter the information related to your Microsoft account.

This is because if someone gains access to your account, they cannot delete it. Therefore, by entering the information related to your Microsoft account, you are proving your identity to Skype. Depending on how you registered with Skype, a message will be sent to your mobile phone (if you registered with a phone number on Skype) or your email (if you registered with an email on Skype).

READ More:  What is Skype and how to use it - Download Skype

7. By entering the verification code sent to you via email or message, the identity verification process will be completed. In the first step, enter the email or phone number associated with your Microsoft account.

Microsoft

8. Then enter your Microsoft account password and click on Sign in.

password

9. In the next step of deleting your Skype account, you need to specify where you want the verification code to be sent, either to your email or phone number.

verification code

10. As shown in the image below, the permanent deletion verification code for your Skype account will be sent immediately to your email or phone number.

phone number

11. The verification codes for deleting a Skype account will expire after a few minutes, so you need to enter it immediately after receiving the email or message. Then click on the Verify button.

Skype account

12. At this stage, some notes and explanations about deleting a Skype account will be displayed.

The most important point is that it’s possible to recover a deleted Skype account. In fact, after deleting your account, you can reactivate it by providing the same account information if you change your mind about deleting it. Unlike other messaging apps, Skype doesn’t immediately and permanently delete your information, but instead gives you a 60-day window to change your mind.

13. To finalize the deletion of your Skype account, click on the Next button in the final step.

Skype account, click on the Next button

14. In this step, you need to check all the items displayed as final warnings. You can also specify the reason for deleting your Skype account. Finally, to confirm the deletion of your account, click on the Mark account to closer option.

deleting your Skype account

This process will result in the permanent deletion of your Skype account. However, you should keep in mind that from the time you start the process to delete your Skype account until it’s permanently deleted, there is a 60-day waiting period in case you change your mind. After 60 days, your Skype account will be permanently deleted, and your information will not be recoverable.

READ More:  How to Track Someone on Skype Messages?

Permanent account deletion notes for Skype:

Will deleting my Skype account also delete my Microsoft account?

When you delete your Skype account, you are also in the process of deleting your Microsoft account. Therefore, we emphasize again that you should save all important emails and information from Microsoft in a safe place.

Why is the username still visible even after deleting the account?

Skype suspends the deleted account for up to 60 days. In other words, it waits for 60 days to see if the user returns to their account. During this time, the account is suspended but still exists. In fact, the Skype account can be seen in the search section of the software for 2 months, and other users can see the display name of the account. After 60 days, the display name of the account will be completely deleted.

Is it possible to recover a deleted Skype account?

Please note that after 60 days of deleting a Skype account, you can never access your account on Skype again.

Skype is a popular instant messaging application used for making voice and video calls over the Internet and conducting online classes. Sometimes, users may want to permanently delete their Skype accounts. However, deleting a Skype account has certain conditions and takes about 60 days to complete. In this tutorial, we have provided the steps to delete a Skype account for users who intend to do so. One criticism often leveled at various instant messaging applications is that after deleting an account, it is impossible to access previous information. However, Skype provides a two-month window for users to return to the application. If you have any questions about using this software, you can ask them in this section’s Q&A. You may also read our other articles such as The Best Skype Spy Apps For Android And iPhone.

Deleting Skype account:

You need to go to the Skype account closure page. You should sign in with your current Skype account on this site.
Make sure you have logged in to your account and if you are sure to close your Skype account, select “Next”.
The site provides you with a checklist to make sure you are sure to close your account.
Select a reason for closing your account from the available list of reasons.
Select the option to close the account.

Source: mizbanfa

keleis andre

Keleis Andre is A tech writer specialising in cybersecurity expert, author, and Manager at SPY24 Company. On this and several other GDPR, MDR, and ethical hacking projects. Hacking, Social Engineering, and Security Awareness Training: My goal is to educate, inform and entertain as I write about my journeys in the tech and cyber space.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *